Saturday, May 17, 2014

Notice of Election

The following message regarding upcoming elections was sent out to SPJ San Antonio members on May 17. If you would like to join our club, please visit the following link, and make sure you specify that you'd like to become a member of the San Antonio Pro chapter.

Dear SPJ members:

Thank you for your continued support of the San Antonio chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Since revitalizing the chapter in 2012, we have celebrated great milestones, including growing membership, hosting the 2013 Region 8 Conference and a Grid Iron show that raised money for three scholarships, the first awarded by this chapter in five years, and the selection process has begun to award scholarships this year.

Before our two-term limits expire, the board members have approved new bylaws to govern going forward.

On June 8, you will receive an electronic ballot to elect new board members and approve or reject the bylaws. The deadline for voting is June 18. New officers will be inducted and scholarships will be awarded on July 1.

Here is a link to the bylaws: 

The positions/nominees are:
President -
Jacqueline Jordan

Vice President for Membership -
Sue Merkner

Vice President of Communications -
Kat Duncan

Vice President of Finance -
Jerry Townsend

Vice President of Programming -
Jason Buch

Board Member at Large (choose two) -
Lakendra Lewis
Michael Drudge


Eva Ruth Moravec, president
Vianna Davila, VP for Membership
Jennifer McInnis, VP of Programming
Jerry Townsend, Treasurer
Jackie Jordan, Member at Large-Freelance